WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Nominations announced for 2012 Edinburgh Comedy Awards

WhatsOnStage logo
The shortlists for the prestigious Foster's Edinburgh Comedy Awards have been announced.

Often dubbed the 'Oscars of comedy' and previously known informally as the Perriers, after their long-standing original sponsor, the Awards currently comprise three categories: Best Comedy Show (including £10,000 prize money), Best Newcomer and the Panel Prize (both of which come with a £5,000 cheque).

This year's shortlist for the main prize includes Josie Long, who has been nominated for the third year in succession.

The nominations for Foster’s Best Comedy Show are:

Claudia O’Doherty – The Telescope (Underbelly, Cowgate)
Doctor Brown –Befrdfgth (Underbelly, Cowgate)
James Acaster – Prompt (Pleasance Courtyard)
Josie Long: Romance and Adventure (Pleasance Courtyard)
Pappy’s: Last Show Ever! (Pleasance Dome)
Tony Law Maximum Noise (The Stand Comedy Club)

The nominations for Foster’s Best Newcomer are:  

Daniel Simonsen – Champions (Pleasance Courtyard)
David Trent – Spontaneous Comedian (Pleasance Courtyard)
Discover Ben Target (Underbelly, Cowgate)
Joe Lycett: Some Lycett Hot (Pleasance Courtyard)
Sam Fletcher – Good on Paper (Bannermans)

The winners will be announced on 25 August 2012 at a lunchtime ceremony at Dovecot Studios, Infirmary Street.

Nica Burns, producer of the awards, said: “The nominees sum up an extraordinarily inventive year for comedy at this year’s Fringe. The shows demonstrate all the comedic art forms - standup, mime, sketch and multi-media experimentation. The performers are all immensely charismatic and often thought-provoking whilst being extremely funny.”


Tagged in this Story