WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Full cast announced for Southwark Seagull with Matthew Kelly

WhatsOnStage logo
Full casting has been announced for the Southwark Playhouse’s forthcoming production of Chekhov's The Seagull starring Matthew Kelly, Whatsonstage.com can reveal.

Joining Kelly in Russell Bolam's production will be: Lily James, Joseph Drake, Michael Beckley, Emily Dobbs, Anthony Howell, Julia St John, Ben Moor, Malcolm Tierney and Sasha Waddell.

Chekhov’s darkly comic masterpiece is being presented in a new version by 20-year-old Anya Reiss, winner of Most Promising Playwright at both the Evening Standard and Critics' Circle awards.  

The production, part of Southwark Playhouse’s final season beneath the arches of London Bridge Station, marks Russell Bolam’s second play in the Main House this year following Philip Ridley’s Shivered.

Matthew Kelly, who plays Dr Dorn, has theatre credits including Of Mice and Men, for which he won the Olivier award for Best Actor, Educating Rita, Legally Blonde, Buried Child and Waiting for Godot.

Lily James (Nina) was recently seen in Downton Abbey and as Desdemona in Daniel Evans' production of Othello at the Crucible Sheffield; Joseph Drake (Konstantin) was recently nominated for a South Bank Sky Arts Award and longlisted for an Evening Standard Best Newcomer Award.

The Seagull runs at Southwark Playhouse from 12 November to 1 December 2012 (previews from 8 November).


Tagged in this Story