WhatsOnStage Logo

About this show

Leif Ove Andsnes' ongoing Beethoven Journey series of concerts and recordings has provoked superlative reactions wherever it has been heard. Here's a chance to find out why with two Beethoven concertos. Piano Concerto no. 2 shows the young composer breaking away from Mozart's model into his own world of expression. No. 3 has a tense first movement, followed by a slow movement graced with eloquent dialogue between piano and woodwind instruments. The finale is a spinning rondo punctuated with quicksilver piano cadenzas. Separating the concertos are two pieces Stravinsky wrote for an American patron - Dumbarton Oaks is like a modern Brandenburg Concerto, and the catchy Septet continues the Baroque inspiration by ending with a Passacaglia and a Gigue.

Show Details

  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:Anvil Arts, Basingstoke