Theatre News

Winners of the Stage Awards 2018 announced

The awards recognise high fliers in the theatre industry

Hope Mill Theatre, Manchester
Hope Mill Theatre, Manchester

The winners have been announced for the 2018 Stage Awards.

This year's awards see the Almeida Theatre being named as London Theatre of the Year, while the Sherman Theatre in Cardiff took home the Regional Theatre of the Year Award.

The award for Fringe Theatre of the Year went to the Hope Mill Theatre in Manchester, after being nominated in the same category last year. The theatre's productions include Hair the Musical and Yank!, both of which transferred to London.

Theatre Building of the Year went to Nicholas Hytner and Nick Starr's Bridge Theatre, while The Unsung Hero award went to Clare Ferraby, the person responsible for the interior design of over 80 theatres. Ferraby has worked on venues including the London Palladium, Leeds Grand and the newly refurbished Victoria Palace Theatre where Hamilton is currently playing.

Cameron Mackintosh said of her win: "My latest restoration of Matcham’s masterpiece, the Victoria Palace could never have been achieved without [Clare Ferraby]. This achievement is all the more extraordinary as she suffered a number of strokes shortly after we started working on the project, but indomitably, cane in hand, she managed to create an extraordinary colourful and exhilarating temple of theatrical magic and light that will certainly last for another hundred years. "

"The Victoria Palace is arguably her finest achievement and we should all sing from the rafters a hymn of praise and thanks for what she’s done for the British theatre."

Hull City of Culture was also recognised as Producer of the Year for its work on the City of Culture programme.

Full winners of the Stage Awards

Regional Theatre of the Year
Sherman Theatre, Cardiff

London Theatre of the Year
Almeida Theatre

Fringe Theatre of the Year
Hope Mill Theatre, Manchester

Theatre Building of the Year
Bridge Theatre, London

Producer of the Year
Hull City of Culture

School of the Year
Royal Exchange Young Company

International Award
Imaginate for the Edinburgh International Children's Festival

Innovation Award
The Everyman Company, Liverpool

Sustainability Award
Arcola Theatre, London

Unsung Hero
Clare Ferraby