WhatsOnStage Logo
Home link

Theatre Book Prize shortlist revealed

The winner will be announced in a ceremony in London in June

The shortlist for the Theatre Book Prize has been revealed

This year's shortlist for the Theatre Book Prize has been revealed.

The annual prize is designed to encourage the writing and publication of books on all aspects of theatre history and practice.

This year's shortlisted books are Dramatic Exchanges edited by Daniel Rosenthal (Profile Books); Modern Playhouses by Alistair Fair (Oxford University Press); Peggy to her Playwrights edited by Colin Chambers (Oberon Books); Staging British South Asian Culture by Jerri Daboo (Routledge); Twenty Theatres to See Before You Die by Amber Massie-Blomfield (Penned in the Margin) and Year of the Mad King: The Lear Diaries by Antony Sher (Nick Hern Books).

The prize was first awarded to books published in 1997. It is presented to a new book on British or British related theatre which an independent panel of judges considers to be the best published during the year. The panel this year featured David Byrne, artistic director of New Diorama Theatre, London; WhatsOnStage managing editor Daisy Bowie-Sell and Professor Jim Davis. Howard Loxton from the Society for Theatre Research chairs.

The winner will be announced on 11 June 2019 at a reception at the Prince of Wales Theatre.