WhatsOnStage Logo
Home link

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child in London new cast includes Michelle Gayle

Find out who will be taking on the witches and wizards at Hogwarts

Back Row (left to right) Rayxia Ojo (Rose Granger-Weasley), Dominic Short (Albus Potter), Jamie Ballard (Harry Potter) and Susie Trayling (Ginny Potter)
(© Manuel Harlan)

New Harry Potter and the Cursed Child cast members have been announced today, with Michelle Gayle taking on the role of Hermione Granger.

Gayle joins the cast alongside Rayxia Ojo as her daughter Rose Granger-Weasley and Dominic Short as Albus Potter. Jamie Ballard as Harry Potter, Susie Trayling as Ginny Potter, Thomas Aldridge as Ron Weasley, James Howard as Draco Malfoy and Jonathan Case as his son Scorpius Malfoy all continue in the company.

Images of the new lead cast in character have been released.


Also in the company are Lola Adaja, David Annen, Valerie Antwi, Emma Bown, Adrian Christopher, Craig Connolly, Robert Curtis, Tim Dewberry, Rachelle Diedericks, Blythe Duff, Antony Eden, Jim Fish, Thomas Gilbey, Elliot Grihault, Rosie Hilal, Joseph Horsford, Mia Hudson, William Lawlor, Susan Lawson-Reynolds, Ronnie Lee, Ryan J Mackay, Lucy Mangan, David Mara, Barry McCarthy, Marcus McKinlay, Kathryn Meisle, Gordon Millar, Duncan Shelton, Molly Shenker, Luke Sumner, Mark Theodore, Emma-May Uden, Madeleine Walker and Maddy Yates. They all play a variety of characters, including seven children who will alternate two roles.

A new batch of tickets will be released on 2 April 2019 for performances at the Palace Theatre until 19 January 2020. Tickets are priced from £15 per part, and for every performance there are over 300 tickets at £20 or less per part.

The show is the eighth instalment in JK Rowling's Harry Potter series, written for the stage by Jack Thorne and Rowling and directed by John Tiffany. It tells of Harry Potter as an adult who is dealing with his teenage son Albus.

Movement is by Steven Hoggett, set by Christine Jones, costumes by Katrina Lindsay, music and arrangements by Imogen Heap, lighting by Neil Austin, sound by Gareth Fry, illusions and magic by Jamie Harrison, music supervision and arrangements by Martin Lowe, and casting by Julia Horan CDG.

Row 4 Back Row (left to right) Gordon Millar, Rachelle Diedericks, Craig Connolly, Emma-May Uden, Mark Theodore, Ronnie Lee, Luke Sumner, Kathryn Meisle, Duncan Shelton Row 3 (left to right) Lola Adaja, Robert Curtis, Emma Bown, Adrian Christopher, Rosie Hilal, Jim Fish, Ryan J Mackay, David Mara, Valerie Antwi, Antony Eden, Susan Lawson-Reynolds, Thomas Gilbey, Tim Dewberry Row 2 (left to right) David Annen, Madeleine Walker, James Howard, Michelle Gayle, Jamie Ballard, Thomas Aldridge, Susie Trayling, Barry McCarthy, Blythe Duff Row 1 (left to right) Lucy Mangan, Jonathan Case, Elliot Grihault, Mia Hudson, Joseph Horsford, Molly Shenker, William Lawlor, Maddy Yates, Marcus McKinlay, Dominic Short, Rayxia Ojo
© Manuel Harlan

You can watch an interview with the current Ron Weasley Thomas Aldridge here.