WhatsOnStage Logo
Home link

Tyrone Huntley and Billy Cullum in rehearsals for Leave to Remain

The new play from Bloc Party's Kele Okereke opens at the Lyric Hammersmith this week

The cast of Leave to Remain in rehearsals
© Ben Hewis

As they prepare to premiere the show at the Lyric Hammersmith, we popped into rehearsals for Leave to Remain to chat with Tyrone Huntley and Billy Cullum.

Directed by Robby Graham, the piece is created by Matt Jones with songs by Kele Okereke, frontman of Bloc Party. It follows a young gay couple, Alex (Cullum) and Obi (Huntley), whose lives are jeopardised when Brexit calls Alex's visa into question.

The piece has design by Rebecca Brower with lighting by Anna Watson and casting by Will Burton.

Alongside the musical Okereke will release a 15-track album featuring songs from the show. The album will be released on 24 January to coincide with the show's opening night.