WhatsOnStage Logo
Home link
Theatre News

Ian McKellen, Richard Eyre and Tyrone Huntley to appear at UK Theatre Awards

The awards take place on 14 October

Richard Eyre, Ian McKellen and Tyrone Huntley
© Dan Wooller for WhatsOnStage

Richard Eyre will receive the Gielgud Award at this year's UK Theatre Awards, which will be hosted by Jesus Christ Superstar performer Tyrone Huntley.

Presented to Eyre by Ian McKellen (King Lear) on the night, the Gielgud Award recognises excellence in the dramatic arts and was established in 1994. Previous recipients include F Murray Abraham, Kenneth Branagh, Judi Dench, Derek Jacobi, Kevin Kline, Christopher Plummer, Lynn Redgrave, Patrick Stewart, Eileen Atkins and Vanessa Redgrave. Last year's award went to David Hare.

Eyre, a former National Theatre artistic director, has recent credits including Long Day's Journey Into Night and the BBC Two production of King Lear.

Among those presenting on the night will be Wendi Peters, Sharon Duncan-Brewster, Ria Jones, Matt Cardle, Emma Williams and MP Michael Ellis.

It was recently announced that Maxine Peake will receive the Outstanding Contribution to British Theatre Award at the ceremony, which takes place on 14 October.