WhatsOnStage Logo
Home link

Evening Standard Theatre Awards longlist announced

Find out who has made the cut

The longlist for this year's Evening Standard Theatre Awards have been announced, with Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, The Flick and No Man's Land leading the way with four nominations each.

The National Theatre makes the list 19 times, with the Almeida Theatre on six, Royal Court on nine, Young Vic on four and Old Vic also on four.

The shortlist will be released on Monday 24 October, with the winners announced at a ceremony at the Old Vic on 13 November.

Full longlist...

Best Actor

Ian McKellen
© Johan Persson

Kenneth Branagh, The Entertainer (Garrick)
Dominic Cooper, The Libertine (Theatre Royal Bath/Theatre Royal Haymarket)
O-T Fagbenle, Ma Rainey's Black Bottom (National Theatre, Lyttelton)
Ralph Fiennes, The Master Builder (Old Vic)/Richard III (Almeida)
James McArdle, Platonov (Chichester Festival Theatre/National Theatre, Olivier)
Simon McBurney, The Encounter (Edinburgh International Festival/Barbican)
Ian McKellen, No Man's Land (Wyndham's)
James Norton, Bug (Found111)
Stephen Rea, Cyprus Avenue (Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs)
Danny Sapani, Les Blancs (National Theatre, Olivier)
Patrick Stewart, No Man's Land (Wyndham's)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress

Billie Piper in Yerma
© Johan Persson

Gemma Arterton, Nell Gwynn (Apollo)
Noma Dumezweni, Linda (Royal Court, Jerwood Downstairs)
Helen McCrory, The Deep Blue Sea (National Theatre, Lyttelton)
Janet McTeer, Les Liaisons Dangereuses (Donmar)
Sophie Melville, Iphigenia in Splott (Sherman Theatre/National Theatre, Temporary Theatre)
Billie Piper, Yerma (Young Vic)

Best Musical Performance

Andy Karl (Phil Connors) in Groundhog Day
© Manuel Harlan

Gina Beck, Show Boat (New London Theatre)
Glenn Close, Sunset Boulevard (Coliseum)
Andy Karl, Groundhog Day (Old Vic)
Jenna Russell, Grey Gardens (Southwark Playhouse)
Sheridan Smith, Funny Girl (Menier Chocolate Factory/Savoy Theatre)
Rebecca Trehearn, Show Boat (New London Theatre)
Michael Xavier, Sunset Boulevard (Coliseum)

Best Play

The cast of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
© Manuel Harlan

Father Comes Home from the Wars, Parts 1, 2 & 3, Suzan-Lori Parks (Royal Court, Jerwood Downstairs)
The Flick, Annie Baker (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Jack Thorne, J K Rowling & John Tiffany (Palace Theatre)
The Invisible Hand, Ayad Akhtar (Tricycle)
Iphigenia in Splott, Gary Owen (Sherman Theatre/National Theatre, Temporary Theatre)
Monster Raving Loony, James Graham (Theatre Royal Plymouth/Soho)

Milton Shulman Award for Best Director

Danny Sapani (Tshembe Matoseh) in Les Blancs
© Johan Persson

Dominic Cooke, Ma Rainey's Black Bottom (National Theatre, Lyttelton)
Marianne Elliott, Husbands and Sons (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Yaël Farber, Les Blancs (National Theatre, Olivier)
Sam Gold, The Flick (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Rupert Goold, Richard III (Almeida)
Robert Icke, Uncle Vanya (Almeida)
John Malkovich, Good Canary (Rose Kingston)
Sean Mathias, No Man's Land (Wyndham's)
Katie Mitchell, Cleansed (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Simon Stone, Yerma (Young Vic)
John Tiffany, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Palace)
Matthew Warchus, Groundhog Day (Old Vic)

Best Revival


Les Blancs, National Theatre, Olivier (directed by Yaël Farber)
Blue/Orange, Young Vic (dir Matthew Xia)
Cleansed, National Theatre, Dorfman (dir Katie Mitchell)
Les Liaisons Dangereuses, Donmar (dir Josie Rourke)
Ma Rainey's Black Bottom, National Theatre, Lyttelton (dir Dominic Cooke)
No Man's Land, Wyndham's (dir Sean Mathias)
Richard III, Almeida (dir Rupert Goold)
Uncle Vanya, Almeida (dir Robert Icke)
Yerma, Young Vic (dir Simon Stone)
Young Chekhov: Platonov, Ivanov & The Seagull, Chichester Festival Theatre/National Theatre, Olivier (dir Jonathan Kent)

Best Design

Simon McBurney in The Encounter. 'This extraordinary show is a sonic blast and a half'
© Robbie Jack

Jon Bausor, You For Me For You (Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs)
Miriam Buether, Boy (Almeida)/Wild (Hampstead)
Bunny Christie, Husbands and Sons (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Gareth Fry (sound design), The Encounter (Edinburgh International Festival/Barbican)
Rob Howell, The Master Builder (Old Vic)/Groundhog Day (Old Vic)
Christine Jones, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Palace)
David Zinn, The Flick (National Theatre, Dorfman)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright

The Rolling Stone by Chris Urch at the Orange Tree Theatre
© Manuel Harlan

Jon Brittain, Rotterdam (Theatre503/Trafalgar Studios)
Zoe Cooper, Jess and Zoe Forever (Orange Tree)
David Ireland, Cyprus Avenue (Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs)
Charlene James, Cuttin' It (Young Vic/Royal Court/Yard)
Nathaniel Martello-White, Torn (Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs)
Chris Urch, The Rolling Stone (Manchester Royal Exchange/ Orange Tree)

Emerging Talent Award

Scorpius Malfoy (Anthony Boyle)
(C) Charlie Gray

Jaygann Ayeh, The Flick (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Anthony Boyle, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Palace)
Callie Cooke, Firebird (Hampstead Theatre Downstairs & Trafalgar Studios)
Karla Crome, Linda (Royal Court, Jerwood Downstairs)
Sean Delaney, Labyrinth (Hampstead)
Aoife Duffin, A Girl is a Half-formed Thing (Samuel Beckett Theatre, Dublin & Young Vic)/ The Taming of the Shrew (Shakespeare's Globe)
Tyrone Huntley, Jesus Christ Superstar (Regent's Park Open Air Theatre)
Adelle Leonce, Torn (Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs)
Freya Mavor, Good Canary (Rose Kingston)