Theatre News

Entries open for tenth Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting

The £40,000 prize will be judged by a panel chaired by Nicholas Hytner

Entries open today (30 January) for the tenth anniversary Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting, the largest competition of its kind in the UK.

To mark the event, photographer Simon Annand photographed a selection of British playwrights in the places where they work and find inspiration (see gallery). The photographs will be exhibited at the Royal Exchange Theatre from April 2015.

Outgoing National Theatre artistic director Nicholas Hytner is chairing the judging panel this year.

Hytner is joined on the panel by Royal Exchange artistic director Sarah Frankcom, 2008 winner Vivienne Franzmann, Actors Touring Company artistic director Ramin Gray, Bruntwood chairman Michael Oglesby, journalist Miranda Sawyer, actress Meera Syal and playwright Bryony Lavery.

Writers, who enter anonymously, must be at least 16 to enter. The winning entry will be produced at the Royal Exchange, with the winner claiming £16,000 of the total £40,000 prize fund. The competition is open until 5 June 2015 – more information can be found at

Judge Sarah Frankcom said: "I really want to discover a play or a writer that is such a game changer it will redefine what a play can be and how it can connect with audiences. We're excited about producing two Bruntwood winners at the Royal Exchange this year. I can't wait to see what we find this time around."

Look out for our full interview with Sarah Frankcom next week