Richard O'Brien’s cult rock ‘n’ roll musical The Rocky Horror Show will return to the West End for a limited Christmas season at the Comedy Theatre, from 21 December 2006 to 27 January 2007.

The show, which was inspired by schlock sci-fi films and follows squeaky-clean sweethearts Brad and Janet on an adventure they'll never forget, was last seen in the West End in July this year when the touring production took a break from its regional dates to run for three weeks at the Playhouse Theatre (See News, 26 May 2006).

Christopher Luscombe’s production, currently back on the road, stars David Bedella as Frank N Furter and former Hear’Say band member Suzanne Shaw (pictured with Bedella) as Janet, along with a host of celebrity narrators, who are yet to be announced for the new London dates.

Previous guest stars have included Michael Aspel, Christopher Biggins, Russ Abbot and Clive Mantle. The cast also includes Iain Davey (Riff Raff), Shona White (Magenta), Matthew Cole (Brad), Kay Murphy (Columbia), Sarah Boulton (Phantom), Claire Parrish (Phantom), Nathan Amzi (Eddie/Dr Scott), Julian Essex-Spurrier (Rocky), Stuart Ellis (Phantom) and Lynden O'Neill (Phantom).

David Bedella won the 2004 Best Actor Laurence Olivier Award for his role as Satan in Jerry Springer - The Opera. His other theatre credits include Jesus Christ Superstar, Smokey Joe’s Café and The Rocky Horror Show, alongside Meatloaf, on Broadway and in US national tours. On television he has appeared in Holby City.

Suzanne Shaw made her stage debut at the age of ten playing the title role in the musical Annie at the Liverpool Empire. More recently, she starred in Summer Holiday on tour and in Joseph and His Technicolor Dreamcoat in the West End.

The original Rocky Horror premiered at the Royal Court Theatre Upstairs in 1973 and later spawned the 1975 cult film (starring Susan Sarandon, Tim Curry and Meatloaf) as well as countless revivals. The score includes "Sweet Transvestite", "Damn It Janet" and "Time Warp". O’Brien joined stars including Anthony Head, Michael Ball, Stephen Gately and Jamie Theakston in the Royal Court’s role-sharing one-off performance on 6 May 2006 (See News, 26 Apr 2006).

This production is designed by Janet Bird with costumes by Sue Blane, lighting by Nick Richings, choreography by Jenny Arnold, musical direction by Simon Beck and sound by Rick Clarke. Currently at the Comedy Theatre, Jeremy Sams’ revival of Michael Frayn’s Olivier Award-winning Donkeys' Years closes on 16 December at the end of its current booking period (See News, 6 Nov 2006).

- by Caroline Ansdell