Interviews

20 Questions With…Andy Serkis

Andy Serkis, just opened in A Lie of the Mind, happily follows in the acting traditions of Harvey Keitel & the late Oliver Reed.

Sometimes likened to the late Oliver Reed in his youth, actor Andy Serkis has electrified audiences with his portrayals of tortured individuals who often harbour a taste for violence.

Like Reed, he has played Bill Sykes (in the 1999 television adaptation of Oliver Twist), while on stage he has been explosive as menacing characters such as Dogboy in April De Angelis’ Hush and Phil in David Rabe’s Hurlyburly.

He is currently starring as Jake – whose savage beating of his wife Beth, sends both characters fleeing back to their own troubled families for comfort and protection – in the Donmar Warehouse’s revival of Sam Shepard’s A Lie of the Mind, directed by Wilson Milam.

Date & place of birth
Born in London on 20 April 1964.

Now lives in…
Crouch End, north London.

Professional training
I did a degree at Lancaster University in Visual Arts that became Theatre Studies.

First big break
Privates on Parade, directed by Jonathan Petherbridge at the Duke’s Playhouse in Lancaster. I joined the local rep at the Duke’s Playhouse and did about 14 productions over a year and a half. That’s where I got my equity card and learnt my craft as an actor.

Career highlights
On stage, Hush (1993) and Mojo (1995), both at the Royal Court, and Hurlyburly (1997) at the Old Vic and the Queen’s Theatre in the West End.

On television, playing Bill Sykes in Oliver Twist (1999) and a Geordie gangster in Finney (1994), directed by David Hayman.

On film, Topsy Turvy (1999), directed by Mike Leigh, and still to come, The Lord of the Rings trilogy in which I provide the voice and physicality for Gollum.

Favourite stage production that you’ve worked on