Hours after Lee Evans, Conleth Hill and Brad Oscar collected a Critics’ Circle Award (See News, 1 Feb 2005), they and their co-stars from The ProducersLeigh Zimmerman and Nicolas Colicos – regrouped on stage at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane last night to accept another best musical prize, the 2005 Whatsonstage.com Theatregoers’ Choice Award for Best New Musical.

Mel Brooks’s smash hit comedy won four Whatsonstage.com Awards in total, including Best Choreographer for Susan Stroman and Best Actor in a Musical for Nathan Lane, who has now been succeeded by Oscar. Lane also nabbed this year’s rather cheeky Planet Hollywood Theatre Event of the Year award for his dramatic last-minute replacement of Richard Dreyfuss days before performances began in November.

In other fields, The Producers scored thousands of votes for their nominations for Best Actress in a Musical (for Leigh Zimmerman, who narrowly missed out to The Woman in White’s Maria Friedman), Best Supporting Actor in a Musical (for Conleth Hill), Best Set Designer (for Robin Wagner). In the Best Actor in a Musical category, Lane also fought off competition from his own co-star Lee Evans.

- by Terri Paddock

To view the full list of winners & nominees as well as further acceptance
remarks & voting percentages, click here. And look out for more
awards presentations over the coming days & weeks.

Left to right: Leigh Zimmerman, Nicolas Colicos, Conleth Hill, Brad Oscar, Lee Evans.