As voting enters the final stretch for this year’s Theatregoers’ Choice Awards, we’re also getting close to finalising the line-up for the Winners’ Concert. The concert - which is your opportunity to celebrate with us and to congratulate your winners and nominees in person - takes place this year on Sunday 15 February 2009 at the West End’s 1,100-seat Prince of Wales theatre, home of Mamma Mia!.

Amongst the names newly confirmed to perform at the Awards Concert are: Niki Evans (pictured), the former X Factor finalist now starring as Mrs Johnstone in Willy Russell’s Blood Brothers; Ramin Karimloo, the current masked man in the West End production of The Phantom of the Opera, who’s also been tipped to star in Andrew Lloyd Webber’s long-awaited sequel to the musical; American diva Kim Criswell, whose myriad credits on both sides of the Atlantic include Side by Side by Sondheim and Anything Goes; Siobhan McCarthy, the original Donna Sheridan in Mamma Mia!; and the tenth anniversary company of the Abba musical that’s now an international blockbuster hit on both stage and screen.

They join, as previously announced (See News, 9 Dec 2008): Jodie Prenger (just opened in Oliver!) and her former I’d Do Anything competitors Samantha Barks and Sarah Lark; Award nominees Elena Roger (Piaf), Leila Benn Harris (Imagine This), Ryan Molloy and Stephen Ashfield (Jersey Boys); the stars of the UK premiere of Spring Awakening; as well as Suranne Jones, Julie Atherton, Ray Shell, Jimmy Johnston and Jackie Marks.

The Awards Concert incorporates live trophy presentations to selected winners in the only major theatre prize-giving decided by members of the public, over 25,000 of whom have already voted since shortlists were announced on 5 December. Beyond the Awards link, the aim is to offer a review of 2008 as well as a preview of what’s coming up in 2009, featuring the best of both the West End and Broadway seasons.

The Concert is directed and devised by Russell Labey, with musical supervision by Iain Vince Gatt, lighting by Mike Robertson, sound by Ben Harrison and staging by Andrew Wright. It’s produced by Stuart Piper and Jason Haigh-Ellery on behalf of and held in aid of our 2009 adopted charity TheatreMAD (Theatre: Make a Difference), which supports those living with HIV, AIDS and other long-term conditions.

Voting in the 2009 Theatregoers’ Choice Awards, covering the 2008 theatregoing year, continues until 31 January 2009.

Awards Concert tickets are priced from £15 to £40 & are selling fast!!! To book yours, call the Prince of Wales box office on
0844 482 5133 or click here to book online!

For the full list of Theatregoers’ Choice Awards
nominations and to vote before 31 January – click here.