This year’s awards season gathers pace with today’s announcement of winners in two separate prize-givings that span the gap between professional versus public opinion – the Critics’ Circle Awards and our own Theatregoers’ Choice Awards.

The winners of the 17th annual Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards - decided by members of the professional association for those who make a living out of criticism, are announced at a ceremony held at 1.00pm at the West End’s Prince of Wales Theatre. While no nominations are released, categories covered by the critics’ awards are Best New Play, Best Musical, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Shakespearean Performance, Best Director, Best Designer, Most Promising Playwright and Most Promising Newcomer.

The winners of the sixth annual Theatregoers’ Choice Awards - decided this year by over 12,000 ticket-buying members of the public, who have voted online over the past eight weeks – will also be announced simultaneously with the live Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards ceremony, on this site and via our email newsletter.

A total of 24 awards categories are covered in this year’s Awards, including Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Director, Best New Musical, Best New Play as well as less conventional categories like Best Ensemble Performance, Best Overall Fringe Production, Best Regional Production and the Planet Hollywood Theatre Event of the Year.

Unlike other awards, holds a party to announce the shortlists and launch the voting, rather than a ceremony for winners alone. This year’s launch party was held on 28 November 2005 at Planet Hollywood (See News, 30 Nov 2005).

Amongst some of the guests in attendance were: Alan Rickman, Jane Krakowski, Jenna Russell, Suranne Jones, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Stephen Daldry, Sheila Hancock, Haydn Gwynne, Tim Healy, Anthony Head, Gary Kemp, David Soul, Lesley Manville, John Gordon Sinclair, Claire Price, Rosemary Ashe, Amanda Drew, Peter Wight, Charlotte Emmerson, Una Stubbs, Jefferson Mays, Martyn Ellis, Rolf Saxon, Clint Dyer, Saskia Reeve, Jenny Agutter, Michelle Ryan, Toby Young, Rhashan Stone, Olivia Williams, Charlotte Randle, Daniel Kramer, Earl Carpenter, Clint Dyer, Joseph Millson, Rebecca Johnson, Liza Sadovy, Giles Terera, Jason Pennycooke, Laura Wade, Roger Lloyd Pack, Robert Delamere, Sara Crowe, Scarlet Strallen, Sean Foley, Tamara Harvey, Peter Quilter, Lucy Bailey, Ian Gelder, Alistair Petrie, Richard Baron, Melly Still, Amelia Bullmore, Andrea Riseborough, Mike Bradwell, David Lan, Sally Ann Triplett and Charles Aitken.

  • For head-to-head results from the Critics’ Circle vs the Theatregoers’ Choice Awards, click here
  • For speech highlights from the Critics’ Circle Awards, click here
  • For photos from the Critics’ Circle Awards, click here
  • For a full list of Theatregoers’ Choice winners, click here
  • For further analysis of the Theatregoers’ Choice winners, click here
  • For a final voting percentages for all winners & nominees in the Theatregoers’ Choice winners, click here