Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Computer Attack Notified From This Site!
Whatsonstage.com Discussion Board > Whatsonstage.com > General Chat
theatrefan
I've just had trouble logging in and was told that a high risk computer attack from this site had been blocked! Anyone else had this notice and does it mean there is a virus lurking on the site?
clarity
Yes - just had the exact same thing happen to me. Twice.
Duncan
My first visit to this site this morning resulted in an attempt to download a file to my computer. Just now, my browser was redirected to a known malware site suspendeddomain.cn

All is not well...
Laughingmonsta
Dear All

This morning the site was attacked by a cypherpirate - as a result you will see that all adverts on the site have been taken down, and the issue is being fixed, it is important that if you logged on this morning and you encountered any of the problems mentioned above you run a Full Anti-Virus and Spyware search of your computer.

We can only apologise for this and hope that it hasnt caused any serious problems for you.

Laughingmonsta
Jenny_tyr
Just some further clarification regarding this: the virus seems to have infected the adserver, not the WOS site itself, and the adserver has been taken offline while this is being fixed, so if you visited the board and/or site and found that no ads loaded you should hopefully be safe as your visit was most likely after the infected adserver was taken down. Still, it's probably a good idea for everyone to run a full virus scan just to be on the safe side. This is the first time that anything like this has happened to us here, and we sincerely hope that it won't happen again any time soon.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.